Eisenhower Chapel, Through a Veil of Ice

In which there is an ice storm.
And in which Tiny Tiger and I finally get busted!
Warning: This posting contains mild tiger peril.


We have had some interesting winter weather in Pennsylvania these past few days. There was freezing rain for a while, there might have been a snow flurry or two or three tossed in, and oh boy, did we get ice!

Above is a photo I took of Eisenhower Chapel, on campus. Once, a few years back, I showed you the pretty little chapel (well, not much of it), behind a veil of color. This shot is the chapel through a veil of ICE.

Tiny Tiger came with me on this day, and we brought along some friends: four felt mice that I have acquired from the Palmer Museum shop through these past few Christmases. The mice especially enjoy riding the bus, for whatever reason.

We are art lovers, and so we went to the museum to shop at the tiny gift shop, and also to see the art. You may see a photo of the five fast friends enjoying some art in the extras. Look how excited they were, with paws waving in the air!

But then the thing that we always fear may happen actually happened! I was posing the Tiger and his pals on a wooden statue for a photo, when a voice behind me spoke up and said, "You are not allowed to place objects on the art!"

So I quickly removed my little friends and stuffed them back in their travel bag, and we left the museum, not in a huff, but a little bit embarrassed, to be honest. For we had no intention of disrespecting their art; in fact, we LOVE art and wanted to have some whimsical fun with it!

At home, the following conversation ensued.
Me *slightly abashed*: Tiny Tiger and I got in trouble today.
Husband: I figured it was just a matter of time. Where? What happened?
Me: At the museum. A guard yelled at us. I was posing Tiny Tiger and his friends on a wooden statue for a photo. The guard said I wasn't allowed to place "objects" on the art.
Husband: Objects?
Me *in a slightly huffy tone*: I know, right? Tiny Tiger isn't an object! He's an Internet celebrity! We were having FUN until they told us NOT TO!
Husband: Well, the guard is lucky. HE doesn't have to put up with your shenanigans year-round, like I do!
Me: No, he doesn't. *snicker*
Husband: You'd better be careful! They'll haul you off to the pokey!*
Me: Tiny Tiger would look GREAT in stripes. I'm not so sure I would!
*pokey = jail

So there you have it. I'm not saying the Tiger is a bad influence. No, not that at all. But when the two of us get our heads together, oh the things we cook up! And what shall be the song to accompany our little tale of a museum misadventure? Let's let it be this one: Johnny Cash, with Busted. And I have come back later to add this one, which I can't believe I didn't think of before! Johnny Cash (again), with I Got Stripes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.