A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Festive visit

Just had to visit Haworth before Christmas. Such a special place with childhood Christmas memories for me. My dad wasn’t a pub goer but as a member of Haworth British Legion he liked to go to t’club on Thursday for a game of ‘doms’ (dominoes) with his mates a a couple of beers - pre breathalyser!
At Christmas they had a special evening on Christmas Eve which my mum went to too. I was taken to spend the evening across the road with the land ladies daughter. We had such a lovely time watching Christmas Carol and playing ‘pick up sticks’ etc. I honestly don’t one if this was just once or several times but I’ve never forgotten it and it is why I always associate Haworth with Christmas. It was particularly magical driving home late on Christmas Eve with all the Christmas lights everywhere. 
Loved this little decorated house on Main Street, think I may have blipped one of the windows before. Took a look in the church too before we had a drink in the White Lion and then came home. 
Chris is cooking a piece of beef and I spent the morning cleaning accompanied by Christmas songs playing and the smell of ham cooking in cider. I went out to cut some fresh Holly. Still lots of berries even with lots on the ground and plenty of signs of bird activity. Chris went for his haircut this morning and picked up the M&S order and then called for the stand pies. Thinks we’ve got plenty of food in now!
Ready for a relaxed evening. Yesterday (concert) went really well and due to sponsors all the ticket money collected will go to our charities. I had aching thighs and a virtually numb foot after all that standing but they’re ok now. My voice, which was croaky to start with, is now almost none existent! Hopefully it will pick up a bit for the Midnight service tomorrow.
Family will arrive late tonight as they got a last minute appointment at the hospital for Eda this afternoon. They then have to come via Oxford where they were supposed to be seeing friends for lunch and have to deliver some parcels to them from grandparents. Nothing is ever straightforward!
(Extra shows the holly over the hall mirror. The brass mirror was my mother’s and I’ve blipped it before. The heart was bought in Berlin in the wonderful Ka de We store in the West End of the City - the centre of West Berlin - some years ago)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.