Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The bouquet that lasts and lasts

19 days ago this bouquet was presented to me by the Haltwhistle walkers to mark my retirement from the Festival committee. I have kept it in the cold conservatory and have been able to enjoy it every day.

Only the two gerberas and one of the lily flowers have died. You can see that the roses became full blown and may start to drop soon, but I think it is brilliant.

Today, Jenny, Dennis and Kate came for lunch. I made a new carrot soup recipe which contained lots of parsley, 65 g to be precise, which is quite a large bunch. It was delicious and we felt very virtuous eating such healthy food. 

I also prepared hot savoury snacks in the from of mini pizzas and spring rolls, along with smoked salmon on oak cakes. Dennis remembered that he always used to take oatcakes with him when he climbed the Munros.

We sat and chatted and ate. (There was lemon roulade too.) It was a very pleasant afternoon.

Tonight was the first episode of Christmas University Challenge which we greatly enjoyed.

Tomorrow should be a quiet day for us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.