Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The Romans were here

I decided to push myself to go for a walk before lunch today. It's so easy to become a holiday slob.......

Instead of my usual walk "around the block", I went across Chollerford Bridge and walked to the site of a much earlier Roman Bridge. This was the second bridge built by the Romans. It was a substantial piece of masonry, with a tower at one end (the square you can see) and very solid abutments. The stones were lifted in using a natty piece of machinery.

In my photograph you can see the site of the tower, the abutments, the River North Tyne and some of the ruins of Chesters Fort on the far side. In the summer, the abutments are not very interesting because they are shaded by the branches and leaves.

On my way to the bridge. I met a large flock of sheep, walking mainly 2 by 2. They must have been to a union meeting at the far end of the field this morning.

I collected Mum's prescription at the surgery earlier on - I need to take the car because the prescription is too heavy to carry - and called at Liz and Nick's with presents. They are both full of cold, so I put the parcel on the doorstep and stood in the street, well away from the germs. Nick said it reminded him of the village of Eyam, when in 1660, the village cut itself off from the outside world, to stop the plague from spreading. 660 people died. I am hopeful that the current cold and 'flu will not cause such devastation!

Back to relaxing in the warmth of the lounge!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.