Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A great find on Christmas Day

It was mild here today. After a quiet morning, I had a wander around the garden, just to see what was flowering (very little) or fruiting.

I often check the elder tree on our back wall, because I have seen Auricula auricula-Judae there. Yet again, none to see. As I turned to walk along the back lawn, I suddenly spotted a large crop on another elder. The light was shining through so I had to have a shot.

I knew this fungus used to be called Jew's ears or Judas' ears (from the belief that Judas hung himself in an elder tree) but I did not know they are edible and used in Chinese recipes. They are also used in some medicines. Whilst I admire their form, I could not fancy eating one.

Margaret (across the road) and Brian came this afternoon. We had a drink and chat. It's always lively with them.

As they left, Julie arrived and I popped the chicken (large and free range) into the oven. The meal was fairly simple - chicken, stuffing, roasties, red cabbage with apple, carrots - and I forgot that I had bought pigs in blankets. They are still in the fridge.

We had a good gap then enjoyed Christmas pud with white sauce. By the time we watched Call the Midwife it was quite late. I loved seeing Harris and Lewis again, but the story line was quite implausible. Never mind, there were some lovely babies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.