Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Christmas and remembrance

As children many of us were indulged and made the centre of attention on Christmas Day. We had few cares in the world. It is when we are older that we have bittersweet memories of Christmas that stay with us. We miss the people dear to us who are no longer alive and we remember the part they played in the little family rituals of the day.

Mum and I had a good day. It was bright and sunny during the morning, so ideal for unwrapping presents and marvelling at the care take to chose things that would suit us. (Why anyone thought I would want pink gin or a bottle of Wainwright beer is beyond me of course!)

I took a short walk this afternoon. Most people had retreated home, but I met a delightful couple who moved into one of the new houses 2 years ago. (Is it really 2 years since they were built?) They are Greek and work in Newcastle, but have lived locally for nearly 20 years. I hope we might do some walks together in the future.

This bench was put on the Haughton Road in memory of Margaret, who was a keen walker. I did not know her well, but I think the bench is a fitting memorial and it is regularly used as a resting place by walkers.

Kate brought tulips the other day. Tulips at Christmas! They are beginning to open and look lovely against our Christmas lights. See extra

I hope that your day has been as you wished it to be and that you have been able to contact the people you wanted to.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.