Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Christmas Eve

Another sunny and bright day today, although as we got to the woods to walk Xena it started raining! It did not last long though and we had sunshine again thereafter.

It somehow does not quite feel like Christmas - it has been busy and I seem to have lost track of the days, I can hardly believe that today is Christmas Eve. After the walk Gavin took my brother Theo and Lynn into the village, and the boys also went in their own car as they wanted to get one more present! I stayed home and made the cranberry sauce, and then made lunch - a smoked mackerel salad with broccoli, quinoa and dried apricot - sounds weird but tastes good! I also made a salmon pasta for the boys as I did not think the (albeit huge) salad would be enough for them!

Jenni left to go home this morning and thankfully has safely arrived. I always get nervous driving on the busy roads at this time of year. Poor Adam has hurt his back again so is not feeling too comfortable at the moment.

The boys always say I spoil Xena too much as we have always had a 'no dogs on furniture' rule in our house, and yet I allow her to go on a blanket on the sofa in the TV room. Well after being home for a few days Luke has allowed Xena to go on my favourite armchair in the family room, but I have covered it with another blanket to protect it. It is now her favourite spot as it is part of the kitchen and she can lie there and watch the comings and goings in this busy part of the house at an elevated level! (see extra)

More food and bubbly tonight, and tomorrow is finally the big day. I wish everyone a very happy Christmas!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.