Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Welcome To The Yard

It was rainy and dank but from the corner of my eye I saw a splash of yellow.  I had no idea what I was seeing.  I couldn't get a shot without reflections so I moved the camera into the bedroom for a better angle.  Whatever this bird was, it really liked the suet.

I can't identify unfamiliar birds without taking a photo because I need to examine the markings (my superhuman split second memory has quit on me).  Fortunately, I had many different angles and I was ready to look it up.  It's one of four subspecies:  this one is known as the "Audubon's" Yellow-rumped warbler. I saw it fly away, and yes, it has a yellow rump! There's another Yellow-rumped warbler more common on the east coast and the others are found in Mexico and Guatemala.

Despite the rain, I saw some other 'new' LBBs*  in the yard which I couldn't identify.  But it was nice to be able to add this warbler (my first ever warbler!) to my list of 2019 backyard birds:
1.  Western screech owl
2.  House sparrow
3.  Verdin
4.  Curve-billed thrasher
5.  Northern cardinal
6.  White-winged dove
7.  Mourning dove
8.  Ladder-backed woodpecker
9.  Gila woodpecker
10. Gambel’s quail
11. Hooded oriole
12. White-crowned sparrow
13. Ruby-crowned kinglet
14. Brown-crested flycatcher
15. Pyrrhuloxia
16. Bewick’s wren
17. Cactus wren
18. Vermilion flycatcher
19. Costa’s hummingbird
20. Black-chinned hummingbird
21. Rufous hummingbird
22. Anna’s hummingbird
23. House finch
24. Lesser goldfinch
25. Cooper’s hawk
26. Common Raven
27. Rock pigeon
28. "Audubon's" Yellow-rumped warbler

*LLBs=Little Brown Birds

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.