Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Holy Popsicle Batman!

It was cold today and wind gusts were as high as 35 mph. We’re expecting a hard freeze overnight. I’m a giant procrastinator, and even though we had plenty of notice for the expected overnight low of 26 °/ -3 °, I waited until the temperature plummeted and the wind was about to knock me over to prepare.

I did get to the hardware store earlier to buy anti-freeze cloths which were challenging to cut up in that wind and wooden stakes so I wouldn’t shmush any plants. Wish I had a heavier hammer. I wasn’t prepared for how large one plant had grown. But I am resourceful! I pulled the dead cholla birds use as a perch and wiggled it around the plant.

It’s not supposed to get above freezing until after 9:00 but I will get out there at 7:00 to put out the nectar and water they’ll all be looking for.

It’s 11pm and already 31 °. It might get colder than expected. These fancy, high tech cloths better work!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.