Weston Cliff

No run and no walk this morning.   I was going to walk to the nearby donkey sanctuary, but we decided we would all go and that TT would take us on the cliff path.  It was manageable for me and my dislike of sheer drops into the sea.,  we were far enough away from the edge for me to never have to look down.  We did have to walk through fields of cows though – not one of my favourite past times.

It was hot, very hot and there was no shelter.  It was a relief to eventually reach the donkeys (extra).  We had a wander round, the extensive grounds and learned a lot about donkeys.  Then we had to walk home.  It was even hotter.  We took the path from the cliffs back to the village church, and as we were all starving we headed to the National trust tea room in the village (extra).  It is housed in an old building which was originally the village bakery.  I had the most delicious lunch – local cheese, two home baked cheese scones and homemade tomato chutney, followed by cake which I didn’t really need, but couldn’t resist.

We stopped off at home and picked up our beach stuff and headed back down to spend the rest of the afternoon on the beach (extra).  Lovely and relaxing after our strenuous walking in the heat of the day.  We stopped off for a drink at a local pub on our way home.  It was much needed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.