Photogen

By Photogen

Fruit Bowl Still LIfe

I took inspiration today from the former noted American photographer Louise Dahl-Wolfe who worked for Harpers Bazaar. She had a New York studio, and while she viewed photography as painting with light she said, "Photography is not fine art. It is an amalgam of individual taste grafted on to mechanical proficiency."
I admire particularly one of her photographs called 'Apples on a Plate' (New York, 1915) which used a reflection of the window as part of the composition. I decided to set up my own plate of fruit, in the shape of three apples and two nectarines, and place it on a striking blue plate on a window ledge in our sunlit conservatory. I used the garden in shadow and reflections in the window as part of the composition. I also mounted my Olympus E3 on a tripod to allow control over depth of field and focal length of lens. My 'mechanical proficiency' is in danger of being forgotten if I resort always to my handy iPhone. Louis lived in an age when this option did not exist and understanding the mechanics of photography was essential.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.