Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A memorial and a joyous reunion

Today was the memorial for my friend and colleague, Hyla Montgomery Holden, who died in Bath last September.

The Oriel Hall in Larkhall was crammed to capacity with family, friends and colleagues from many walks of life. Several people had been invited to speak. We had prepared independently and it was amazing how the talks complemented each other.

There was music, mainly composed by Hyla, who used to hear music as he dreamed.

I had the job of conducting a scratch choir in the Sanctus, not by Hyla, but by Clemens non Papa.

This had been sung regularly by the family over the years.

I thought it would be relatively straightforward, but I had not bargained for variable memories....

I had chosen the key to suit most voices. As soon as I gave the note one of the family said they always sang it higher. Me: “Let’s try this and I’ll put it up if it doesn’t work”

Three bars in and another interruption. This is not how the tune goes. Me: “it’s how the music goes in the copy I received”

You get the drift?!

Since the music had been sent out to several people in advance, we had to go with the written score. We also had 15 mins in which to rehearse it.

When we performed, it didn’t sound too bad.....

After the event was concluded, I was sought out by these three renegades. They are Richard Parkin and John Frood who were my GP partners and John’s wife, Monica. They had driven down from the north east yesterday. I had no idea they were in the audience when I was speaking.

Much later, after tea and cakes, I joined the family for take away fish and chips at Hyla’s house. We agreed that he would have hated all the fuss today, and we raised a toast in his memory. His son Andrew was wearing one of Hyla’s fine waistcoats with his watch and chain, plus one of Hyla’s jackets.

I met a lot of new people today. Everyone had a tale to tell about how Hyla had touched their lives and influenced them for the good. A life - certainly not without flaws - but lived to the full in the service of others. his influence will continue.

PS If you haven’t joined the mushy pea debate from yesterday, please have your say.nwe need more opinions!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.