There’s Always One Left Behind!

I took down all my Christmas decorations finally on Saturday but kept the lit Christmas tree up until today, St Knut’s Day, which as I explained before, is the Swedish tradition. I’m not Swedish (though my grandmother was!) but it gave me a good excuse to keep my house decorated for another week! I note from last year’s blip entries that I kept my tree and decorations up until the 19th/20th as I was also suffering from a post-Christmas virus then too.

I was very pleased that I seemed to remember EVERYTHING last Saturday, as we all know how easy it is to miss a decoration and discover it only once the boxes of ornaments have gone into deep storage. However, when I took the tree apart, out fell one last bauble which had been hiding in the branches. See it there in the picture? Oh well, it was easy enough to put away as a lot of my ornaments have gone into plastic drawers under the stairs this year - much easier to access.

I was sad to see the tree go. But once gone my house seemed fresh and airy again and now I’m ready for spring! With the raging wind outside courtesy of storm Brendan, it’s a little hard to imagine spring! I did squeeze in one quick walk to the lake before the rain actually started late this afternoon. It was dark and grey - not a touch of colour for the sunset this evening. With rain and wind forecasted for tomorrow I don’t think I’ll be leaving the house if I can help it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.