Doughty's Hospital, Norwich

On a nice, brief 25 minute walk at lunchtime with Jane, we stumbled upon this gem. It first caught my eye from the back (I will add an extra) and so we went in search of the front.

The history of these Almshouses is fascinating, and I urge you to consult with this website as there is too much for me to replicate here.

https://norfolktalesmyths.com/2018/05/18/doughtys-hospital-its-beginnings/

I cant believe it has not been discovered by me before. Situated only 10 minutes walk or less from my offices. The original 'hospital' built in 1697 and these later in 1800s.

I finished my poem, so for those not on Facebook, it is here, and goes with last weeks sea photo.

Tide

Breathless with excitement, graceful, free
Rolls wave, upon wave, on a foaming sea.
Hungry to greet a shimmering shore
Speckled bright pebbles, eager for more.
Forward she rushes, bubbles coating the sand,
Massaging groynes, with her salty wet hand.
Dowsing the shoreline, her mark there remains
Gravelly, growling, drags golden grains,
And quickly retreating, she trips in her race,
Leaving wrinkly wet rivers etched on her sandy face.
And so it continues, pounding time after time,
As tides pulls her this way and that way in rhyme.
Tumbling, those waves sleekly rise and then fall,
Ravaging cliff tops she claws at the soil.
Her grace is a cover, so beware, she’s no fool,
Respect in the power of this most precious jewel.


Back to tap dancing tonight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.