Capital adventures

By marchmont

From the balcony

A couple of hours in the middle of the night being briefed on progress at home. As expected Mum needs rehydrated but as the Hospital at Home team are fully committed is off to the Western overnight for her. Luckily J & D are there to deal with everything, I was also definitely suffering from a cold and sore eyes With no cucumber on hand iced water soaked cotton wool had to provide relief..

If already decided on a lazy day so the morning was spent doing cross stitch on the balcony and watching the boats, fishing, died an me the big ferries come and go from the pier. The tide goes right out in front of the hotel leaving an enormous and bar. I waited till early afternoon to take up a lounger in the sun as by then access to the sea on the incoming tide was much easier. It was also quite windy, a pleasant cooking breeze to temper the 33 degrees.

Later I walked down to the sandy beach beyond the headland for the sunset. Cloud meant you didn't get the whole effect of it slipping into the sea. I took my traditional sunset selfie and cogitated on the places I've photographed spectacular sunsets; Monterey, Sarawak, Sardinia, Minorca, Uluru and Mitgaillard, fro the deck at La G. I am a very fortunate person. It also made me realise that my choice of hotel was the right one. The road to the beach is lined with resorts and the beach was busy with families (Chinese, Russians, Finns, Swedes etc) and lined by beach restaurants. I think I may be the while single person on holiday in Saladan and a hotel near the town centre with sandless access to the sea suits me very well. It is also a place where towels bag loungers early and where I would not have looked out of place in a bikini. I haven't worn one since 2011!

And today is a day of anniversaries; 7 years in the house, a year since my last day at work and probably many others as well.

Back in the town, via the Saturday market (mainly produce) I ended up going back to Sea, Sand, Soul . Due to location it is much less busy than the other waterfront restaurants so I got a table right out at the water. Good food, and more than I intended. It is also a very short stroll back to the balcony where I read some more of my book before bed, and the cold seems better. A good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.