Allotment Day

A very productive day with 2 or 3 hours spent at the allotment preparing the beds for the coming season. Jon took the new rotavator down on the trailer and we all had a go with it. The boys were brilliant, and while I dug out the compost heap and transferred to the beds to be rotavated in, they took turns to rotavate and cut the grass. The result is I now have 4 big beds ready, and we hope to do 2 more next weekend. The boys went back home and I stayed behind for an hour to clear the fruit area. I repotted some of the strawberries and cleared the dead grass away from around the raspberry canes but eventually had to stop when it got too dull and I was feeling cold and tired. Jon came back with 4 bags of horse manure which is free from a horse owner at the bottom of our road. We emptied the bags onto the now empty compost bin and covered it over with carpet. It will take until this time next year to rot down.

I'm so pleased with the progress made, but am feeling it now. I've had an early bath while Jon cooked a fry up for tea. Now we are sitting down for an evening of tv, beginning with The Great Pottery Throw Down.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.