Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Brrr...

Out early with the temps (obviously) colder than I would like.  Later in the day a couple of layers were peeled.

I ran into a couple I know when I arrived at the deli and joined them for breakfast.  They are very nice people.  Joe is declining quickly from Parkinson's disease and is receiving comfort care.  He can't talk much but he managed to whisper his order to the server and was quick enough to snag my check and hand it to Barb to pay.  They have always been among the kindest people to me not only amongst my acquaintances from church but Green Valley, in general.  They are in their 90's.

I dropped three late arriving forms to the accountant from members of my family who don't seem to realize that the very least they can do to help me is complete and return simple forms in a timely manner.  As a result of some dilly-dallying by two of them, a total of $0.17 was distributed among the six of us.  If they don't cash the silly $0.02  checks, they will totally screw me up 120 days from now.   

I was told again today when I tried to volunteer that I should seek to use my skills with a different organization. I was all set to go in for training this afternoon but it was canceled an hour before I was to be there because the trainer wasn’t there. I was confused about the situation. Apparently, asking questions about length of time for training, when it could be rescheduled and other related inquiries made me "resistant to training" and then when I asked if I was being rejected after I was rejected (by this time I was upset and tearful) the reason changed to 'I don't think we can work with your anger.' I asked the manager if she would feel angry after being rejected for VOLUNTEERING and her response was, "I don't get angry."  

I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong but whatever it is, these people who don't know me and won't even give me a chance before passing judgement on my ability to do the job are making me feel very, very small, hurt and sad.  I even spoke with my sister-in-law who was head of the government agency in the county she resides before I went to plead my case and got ideas on how to approach them.  Afterwards, Tammy told me she was embarrassed for her profession by the way I was treated.  

I will do my best to get MM results out on Thursday (which began 45 minutes ago) but no promises.  I haven't had much of a chance to look through blip today.  Thanks for sending a couple of my recent photos to the Pop page. That was nice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.