In my garden

After a morning of ironing for me, and coppicing a small woodland with the scouts for Jon, we had a nice lasagne for dinner. Just 4 of us. That meant the portion size was a bit big, but it all went! Lasagne is one thing I can cook!

Then Henry and I sat in the conservatory to do our one hour bird watch. We were pleased with numbers as we only have a small garden, but being very rural there are usually lots of birds. Our tally included a coal tit and this chaffinch, plus 6 blue tits at one point, and 4 blackbirds, among others.

At 3pm I got out to do a bit of weeding. My fork would hardly move, due to the solid web of ground elder roots just below the surface. I ended up digging as much as I could but with annuals established, I will never remove it all without digging up and potentially losing them. There is lots more to be done but it began to get dark and then rained, and I was ready to have a spell with my jigsaw. Jon spent a couple of hours cutting back our front hedge, so both making the most of the dry weather.

I've had a very hit deep bath, which was relaxing, and now I'm squeezing in a blip before my pottery, then midwife then Christine Keeler tv evening.

Feel properly relaxed and ready for work again after a 3 day weekend. Even though when I go to 4 days, they won't allow my day off to be a Friday, i hope it is going to help me feel like this every week!

My photos are 4 different types of snowdrops I have in my garden. Apart from the Wendy's Gold, I dont know names, but I love them all! The others are, at the top an exceptionally tall snowdrop, plus the shorter one is a double flower. Bottom left is Wendy's gold, middle are more doubles, and bottom right, not quite out yet is one with a very tiny flower. Spring is early...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.