Snow Outdoors - Water Indoors

The snow dances seem to have worked. It has been snowing all day and several hours have been spent outdoors shoveling and clearing the stuff away from where it isn't wanted. The garage tent, which is actually a wood, kayak, and gardening store earns place of honour because 20 cm of wet heavy snow had to be cleared from the top and sides (see here, on my flickr). I'm fairly sure this involved moving a ton of snow (literally).
As I cleared the snow I could really feel that my body was stronger and more flexible than usual, which I put down to our restarting the daily yoga practice.
In the middle of the morning we noticed our water pressure was very low. We assumed the water company were fixing a leak somewhere local but after a while I decided to go to the cellar and check. It took me a while to dig down to the cellar through the snow and when I finally got in I could hear squirting water! A cap on an old sealed pipe had corroded through and a spectacular fountain was crossing the cellar. Fortunately I was standing next to the mains tap as I saw this and was able to quickly turn it off. Another fortunate factor is that the cellar was originally fitted out as a laundry so the floor and walls are tiled and sealed and there is a large drain in the floor.  It took a good couple of hours of mopping up but nothing seemed damaged. In the afternoon a plumber arrived and was able to reseal the pipe with a new cap, which he assured me would last another 35 years.
This evening we were at filmstudio and saw the latest Ken Loach film - "Sorry we missed you" - about the gig-economy and zero hours workers. It is a brutal film to watch as the characters fall deeper and deeper into their troubles.  When I write about a film I often include a review but this time I'll link to an article in the Guardian about the reality behind the film, indicating that the reality can be even more brutal than the film.
I've been watching Ken Loach productions all of my life. I saw "Cathy Come Home" on tv when I was 15, "Kes" in the cinema in 1969 when I was 18 and now this film 48 years after Kes!  Thank God for film makers like Ken Loach!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.