Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Friendly Four - the Mister

Back on 16 January I posted YardBird #4, a female Downy Woodpecker.  Today I'm posting a male of the species, just so you can see the difference - his little red beret.  He was about 7 feet from me, as I sat in the hide late this afternoon with the sun getting low in the sky.  I liked the over-the-shoulder pose which allows you to see the rather beautiful pattern on his back.  What's not to love about woodpeckers?

A relatively warm day with temps approaching 50 so all of yesterday's dusting of snow has melted.  Tomorrow should get into the low 50's and then Wednesday will be back to more winter-like temps.  Nice to have warmer weather, though.

Thanks for all the love on my little Nuthatch yesterday!  There were several around today as well, beeping and tooting in their little nuthatch voices.  The turkeys were also around today and I was reminded again how beautiful their plumage is when the sun hits it and brings out all the iridescent shades.  Need to try to get a shot of that...

Had a nice chat with my parents this morning.  They are in Yuma, Arizona getting ready for a big geo-caching Mega-event with some 900 people.  They are having a great time and not missing the cool, rainy Oregon weather at all. 

All else status quo.

xo
Debbi

Fitness Notes - after 2 days break, I hit the gym again.  Got my speed up to 3.7 MPH, a new post-broken-foot record!  1.2 miles and then upper and lower body weights.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.