LICENSE TO CHILL

Pleasant day today.  I decided that as Storm Dennis is due to descend on us this weekend I'll probably be stuck indoors for a few days so I popped up The Lakes today on my own with the camera.

I just drove around going via Bowness and calling into to Waterhead at Ambleside.  Had a little walk around there, the swans and ducks were around but the waters edge was really messy, mostly fallen twigs but the occasional piece of plastic, which I tried to reach but couldn't.  As I was looking at swan through the viewfinder he very kindly decided to stretch his muscles, sadly it's not totally sharp but I just had to snap as they don't last long and he didn't do it again (see extras).

I could see further snow-topped  mountains beckoning me so I drove up the A591 to Keswick, where it was much cloudier turned round and came back.  Just stopping off at various layby's and bus-stops on the way back.  Stunning scenery and so nice whilst it is still quiet.  Sadly there were only glimpses of blue skies then and it did feel decidedly chilly.

Of course the very best scenes were from the A591 going past Thirlmere but nowhere to stop to take photos.   I'm not sure whether the road round is accessible yet so I must look into that and look into the couple of car parks around there to see where they go.

I called into The Langdale Chase Hotel for a sandwich on the way back.  Intending to take some shots from their gardens, however by the time I'd finished my lunch the gloom had descended again so light not good for photography.  Lunch was a little disappointing as the bread felt a little dry (strange as it's normally very good in there).  If I'd been with someone I would have mentioned it but decided to just leave it.  Service was good though and stunning scenery.

Then just came home.  Of course now that I've edited the photographs the sun is now shining *sigh* typical.  Still considering the bad weather lately and to come I'm not complaining.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.