Not so Happy Valentine's Day

The boiler man was due this morning.  They called to say he would be with me in a hour,  two hours later he appeared.  He had the parts, he got it fixed, but there was a problem with some ancient valves.  He needed to drain the system.  That proved tricky – very tricky, but eventually he managed.  Then he had to go and get different valves, but at last after a lot of head scratching he got it all working again.  But that was not the end.  As he was putting it all back together, he noticed a dodgy seal.  To cut a long story short, our boiler is now condemned until he gets the right seal.  Nightmare.  It could be tomorrow, it could be Monday.  I was then left to do all the tidying up, which was substantial, given he had carpets up around the house and cupboards emptied looking for (and failing) an easy way to drain the system.   This is the first major incident we have had with the boiler – which we recognise is ageing – and which was in the house when we moved in.  We (and the heating engineer) are left wondering how the system all hangs together after this incident though.

As the day had improved weather-wise I went out for a walk to reduce my stress levels!  My walk back along the river was muddier than I had anticipated and there was more water in the river than I anticipated, but I guess we’ve had a week of weather and the snow on the hills would be melting.

BB returned after his sleepover and day out, and started playing his cello, while I cooked.  Later TT and I watched TV and he mainly enjoyed the chocolate he bought me for Valentine’s Day.

The sign stuck on the boiler, until the seal is fixed.  How frustrating.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.