Snowdrops

It’s Valentine’s Day – a day that generally goes unnoticed in our house, but TT excelled himself this year.  I got a card, flowers, seeds and chocolates.  Even his own mother wondered what had come over him!  I got him chocolate.
I made the cakes I had planned to make yesterday – madeleines.  I don’t know when I last made them, but it must be quite a long time ago.  My madeleine tray was forgotten at the back of the cupboard until I came across it while looking for something else.  They were delicious and very moreish.  I also made soup to keep us going for a couple of midweek lunches.
The morning seemed to disappear.  After lunch, TT declared he had to work, so BB and I went out for a walk.  The snow is thawing, but there is still plenty lying around.  We just did a circuit around by the farm, but  I needed to extend our walk to pick up some fruit from the supermarket, but he didn’t want to join me, so ran off along a very snowy and icy road, to cut through to the railway path (which I am sure was also very icy) to get home quicker.  I kept going into town and bumped into a couple of friends, and must have chatted to them for about half an hour – socially distanced of course.  Once home I read some of my book and TT cooked a roast chicken dinner as requested by BB.  He also treated me to a very nice bottle of fizz.  He really has pulled out all the stops out today!
These snowdrops are peeping through the snow in a neighbour’s garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.