Snow Girl

The drive to school was horrendous this morning. The temperature gauge on the car showed that it was minus five and the lane and the roads out of the village were ice rinks.
Once I got to the main roads I relaxed because they were clear. Or so I thought.
I braked at one point because the cars in front of me did. I hit a patch of black ice and nothing happened when I braked. Nothing at all! I even pulled the handbrake on which obviously didn't help!
The only thing left to do was scream "oh no, oh no" a few times, hold on tight and wait for the bang. We finally stopped with a few feet to spare.
I was shaking the rest of the way to school.
It didn't help that the driveway hadn't been treated at all so was sheet ice and a poor woman had driven into the ditch and was blocking the road so basically it was gridlock - no-one in and no-one out!
I was very happy to get to Miss E's class and drop her off.
I didn't dare try and drive up our lane and on to our sloping drive so I parked in the village and walked up with Miss L - who was in her pyjamas!! Luckily there were wellies and a coat in the car so it wasn't as bad as it might have been. And I don't think any of the neighbours saw us!!
The journey back to school later was slightly less dramatic. The temperature had reached a balmy one degree!!
Mrs C came over after school with her three boys. It's been ages so it was nice to chat and moan and drink tea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.