Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Mono Monday: Shapes

Wow. This is the perfect MM theme for today as it gives me the chance to use this picture of the "Future" footbridge crossing over the Dubai Water Canal...

What a turbulent day. It started right from the taxi ride to work where I could tell that the Coronavirus was the topic on the Malayalam radio station the driver had on. We chatted about the situation briefly. He said their income had really dropped because people's routines and schedules changing. I felt really sorry him, especially after we'd discovered the reason for the empty docks at the dhow wharfage. I can see that no-one will be untouched by COVID-19.

I got to work to discover that all our seminars and conferences have been cancelled for the next few weeks, which automatically affects the work I am doing. Understandably, my hours are further reduced but I have also been asked to stay on past March. Wey hey!

G picked me up and we came straight home and today, we stayed put. She has started a mega purge and tidy-up on her wardrobes and they are looking really good. I caught up with the one big weekend job that I didn't get to on Friday, Saturday or Sunday!

It gave a chance to appreciate the mundane amidst all the turmoil in the financial markets. Oil prices falling 30% over a few days resulting in price wars and stock markets recording huge drops so much so, the NYSE had to be shut down to maintain stability. Nothing changed when it reopened. With everything that's going on, there's GOT to be some light at the end of the tunnel! And what a surprise to find the pound had gained in strength today. Quite a lot actually.

Thank you ApolloFly for hosting Mono Monday. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.