Open

Work was slightly surreal. 

Leaving aside the big picture about the virus - which we have to keep informed about so we can inform others - we took a vote and kept the front door locked. 

The Manager was out at a meeting and the Boss was elsewhere too, so they did not get a vote. It is hard to explain briefly, but we reckon only 20% of those who come in to see us could - for one reason or another - be relied on to follow the hygiene guidance.

I cancelled my hotels in Tunisia - one will cost me €350 and the other nothing. I feel bad for the one getting nothing. It's a small place 2 hours drive into the Sahara from the nearest airport. No passing trade. 

The car rental company is offering to hold my reservation for the future. I would like to accept. We'll see. Air France remains unclear... a new reservation, an insurance claim or £300 lost. 

People are losing their jobs and businesses as a result of recent events, so my loss will be negligible when I put it in context. 

The Blip is the entrance to the church where I eat my lunch most days if I am in the Office. It was open today, which was a nice surprise. The volunteers who serve the food are all in the high risk category for being over 60. 

It is weird to think the tray I pick up, or the knife and fork I use, or the table I sit at, could be infecting me. Yes, I washed my hands after I finished. 

Then I had to use the handle to open the Office door... and yes, wash my hands again. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.