New Curtains

It feels odd being at home on my own. I don’t think that in 34 years of working, I’ve ever had annual leave just for myself. However, it is frustrating not being able to go anywhere because of coronavirus. Bring back Brexit, all is forgiven. Jon left at 6 with a work appointment in Kent, so I took Henry in. Then Bracken and I took a walk in the sun to the allotment where I dug out a tiny patch of ground elder I had spotted at the weekend. It was attached to the artichoke plants that I transplanted from my garden, which is rife with it. I don’t want it taking over up there, so took the whole plant out and dissected its root to get every bit of groundelder root. I will keep a watch on it. I tidied a bit and will go back later in the week.

Then I drove to Sheringham to buy curtain tape to make my bedroom curtains. Is that what it’s called? The tape you sew on to the top so that the curtain hooks can hook on to it. I washed and hung out 3 loads of washing, then at midday I was, at last, ready to start on my curtains. It was making the first cut that I’d been avoiding, but once I’d started it was all good, and I made them very simple. I tried to look at a proper sewing book to see how to do it, but it was complicated, so I guessed. They look fine! That was the rest of my day. Tomorrow I have one more curtain to make, but that will take no more than an hour.

Jon has been told to work from home now. And our planned trip to Stratford looks like it’s a no go on Thursday. Such a shame as we had really been looking forward to a holiday (albeit just 3 days). So a week at home instead. Could be worse.

Mollie rang and is going to try and get a train home this week, and will then continue her final studies remotely. Here’s hoping everyone stays well, as it is such a big worry when we can’t see our loved ones.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.