Empty shelves...but I'm not panicking yet

Today I finished sewing, made a third curtain for the bedroom. We have a very small window at the side of the house, but no curtain rail yet. But the curtain is made and ready for when I do have one.

I also did a few mending jobs, more washing and sorting out. After lunch I drove in to Cromer to see how Lidl was fairing. Not good! Shelves were completely empty of bread, veg, fruit, meat, milk, flour, cereal - well everything really. There was wine and beer, but they are things I dont buy, and definitely won't if there is a chance money could be short. I left there in search of chocolate, so paid for the few bits i had, then drove to Coop. They had a bit more on their shelves, including cereal, but still no fresh fruit and veg, and no meat or bread. They did have a few pints of long life milk. I bought 3, which was the maximum allowed!! It really is rationing.

Then I drove to Roughton to The Ark to see if he had any point of lay hens. The ones he has are about 4 weeks until they start laying. I'm going to go back tomorrow to buy a couple.

I contacted the camp site we were due to visit this weekend to say we wouldn't be going now. They said that was understandable. We had paid £30 deposit but they said if we book later in the year they would carry it forward. So hopefully we can do that. Had news from work that there is advice to work from home where possible by the Council, but no fixed instruction on what we in Pensions should do. I'm not due in until next Monday so will check again at the end of the week to see if things are clearer.

Have had lots of contact with different friends across East Anglia as well as mum and dad. I'm also in touch with cousins in New Zealand and Australia. It is a strange situation to be in, knowing everyone in the world is being controlled by this invisible predator. It is scary and worries me, so I'm trying not to watch or listen to it too much. I played my vinyl today to escape the radio. A bit of Dolly, Cliff and 10cc. Not everyone taste but was only me and Ralph listening to it.

Jon and the boys are still going to work as normal. I've given them both a little bottle of hand sanitizer. Just hoping everyone stays safe. Be happier when Mollie gets back tomorrow and we are all together.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.