Bird on a brick wall

Today's cycle ride to Portobello prom and back brings a blip of a bird on a brick wall. No doubt some learned blipper will identify the variety.

It was another day of social distancing by working at home, much of it spent converting face-to-face appointments to online meetings and cancelling/postponing events. I attended a 19-person Zoom meeting this morning, which worked remarkably well. If we had been on campus, participation would have been much lower. In fact, I had initially sent apologies to this meeting myself: today Bruce and I should have hosted Event 3 of our RIVAL project.

Something else interesting is happening: people who we haven't heard from for ages are getting in touch to check that we are coping with the Coronavirus restrictions. For example, today I enjoyed a lovely long a phone call with a family friend. I hadn't exchanged a single word with Spaghetti Betty's daughter in years.

I had been wondering how long it would be before I knew someone with Coronavirus. It happened this evening. My London-based cousin Tom (son of Julie in the middle of this shot) has succumbed* :-(

*Update 2 hours later - and my Cardiff-based cousin Helena!

Exercise today: 10 mile bike ride.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.