Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

SZR #2

We had quite a day today. I needed to do some work first thing and then we had to get to Dubai Mall to a DED office. In the past, things have gone fairly well here. Today, I don't know what happened but they weren't the least bit interested in delivering any service of note. I was told we didn't have the right papers and I had to go and get that sorted first.

There is a big Happiness drive here, so G decided to press the relevant button on her way out. Someone in charge was standing close by when she did it, so he immediately wanted to know what had happened, so we told him. We then received some very good and detailed info on how to fix the problem we had.

I also called the person who had helped us get to the Payment Voucher stage. He gave a different option. I decided to go with him. We had to call in at our flat to collect a couple of things, the company stamp being the most important. We then headed to an "Amer" centre.

The first one we went to said we were in the wrong place and told us of another Amer centre we needed. Ironically, this is the one I was heading to before I found one closer. In the attempt to get out of the area (because of the circuitous road systems they like here) we passed a small pharmacy and I decided it would be good to check if they had the thyroxine I need. To my huge surprise, they had the exact brand and dosage I was looking for! Only one box, so I am good for three months now. AMAZING!

We then drove to the area we were directed to and went into an Amer office only to be told that one wasn't the one we needed either. "Three buildings down" the lady said. By this time, G was really losing her cool. Thankfully, the last office we visited was the right one. We got great service and a better result than what we had gone in for, so all the running around and hassle was worth it.

Home for some lunch and before too long, it was time to head out again, this time to a Lavylites meeting. We'd invited Rachel and Peter. Others couldn't come and it ended up being just the four of us, which was perfect! It was the best presentation I'd been to so far and we got to ask loads of questions at the end.

R&P treated us to our first-ever Nando's meal before we said our goodbyes and came home. I needed to do a bit more work, so I went straight to it. G wants her desk and her room tomorrow, so it was best to do what I needed despite the lateness of the hour.

It's been a busy and good day. My blip was taken when we parked up for the afternoon meeting. That's G standing waiting to cross the road. The street was a lot less busy than normal. Coronavirus is affecting everything!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.