Capital adventures

By marchmont

MCO - day 6

Despite being awake in the early hours to hear the repeat of the FM's hardhitting speech (and the excellent Janey Godley voiceover) I slept really well and had to be roused at 8.30 as today was the first day of 'Bedroom School'.  We started in the girls' room but soon relocated to mine; cooler, more space, fewer distractions.  WH had gone to her office to work so that meant Amelia could be more focused. Despite the lack of worksheets (the printer has no ink) some learning was done, along with 2 lots of gym on the balcony and in the afternoon cake and pizza making. There was a short 'Peppa Pig' interlude but no 'Cocomelon', and 'Boss Baby' after 'swimming' and class.  I was never a teacher, I'm firstly a facilitator and then an education administrator but I used to visit home schoolers in a previous life.  Never thought I'd become one myself. 

Later, after dinner, I had a Skype call with the College and even later we listened to the JuiceMedia podcast with Norman Swan of the ABC (medical grad, Aberdeen Uni, 1976).  It was serious stuff and makes me really fear for what is happening in the UK.  All these pictures of people in parks and hills and on beaches at the weekend look like people 'don't get it'.  The number of cases here is still increasing, still often connected with the tabligh 3 and a half weeks ago but I feel safer here as we have so little contact with the other people and I'm not alone and we have food. The Government is talking about extending the MCO, the decision to be made on 30th.   We think it will.  I think I may be here some considerable time.  Well, it's almost like a trial run for MM2H!

The 'Condo Orchestra' happened again tonight at 8.30.  Tomorrow is Lucas in Block E's 11th birthday.  We've all been asked to sing 'Happy Birthday' at 10 a.m. We are social beings and community will out, whatever. 

6 days done - 8 to go, maybe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.