Capital adventures

By marchmont

MCO - day 7

It was a very disturbed, sleepless night.  I'd gone to bed late and then watched a bit of the Emergency Powers Bill debate live.  The FCO advice came through around 2 and there were calls to a lodger, a plumber and a son.  I stayed awake to listen to the UK PM but managed to nod off at 3.15 and wake up about 3.45 so missed him live, but I did catch the FM, as usual very clear and confident.  As expected a total lockdown in the UK, the right decision. More calls to #3 son and messages to the plumber.  Wen Hui was up but she doesn't give much away.  I think I eventually fell asleep about 5.

#1 son was not as empathetic as I need. This is a big decision especially as the Qatar KL office is closed due to the MCO and the London one, if it opens at all, wouldn't be till 5 p.m. local time.  Also the word on Twitter is that they are not very responsive and changing bookings is a nightmare, if you can speak to them at all.

So the decision, to stay.  Nothing has really changed since last week.  We are in contact with very few people, no-one went out at all today.  Travel to the airport (if I could get a flight) involves going through police controls at the State boundary and then a probably full flight and possibly 15 hours in Doha airport.  The lodger is now working in a Care Home so self isolating would be a challenge and he needs to keep safe. J & D are self isolating so the burden of supporting me would fall on #3 son as he tells me online delivery is difficult.  Here I have family, I'm useful, and people who can help if things do get difficult.  The other grandparents (currently taking daily walks along the Thames) will be home on Thursday and free from 9 April. It's a risk but balancing the health risk against the 'it may be months before I can get home' risk, health wins (Qatar are at present still flying). I won't need repatriated.  I have home here as does #2 son who is also staying.

When this is over this bliplog will be so important to me as it chronicles these extraordinary times and don't get  me wrong; my anxiety is off the scale and but then no-one knows what will happen.

Bedroom School was hard today.  My mind wasn't on it, Wen Hui was at home and Amelia had a major melt down in the morning.  But we did some numbers and some grammar and some stories and Olivia did a lot of drawing. Later there was cutting out paper chains and doilies and now they decorate the balcony doors.  And at 10 a.m. we joined others to sing 'Happy Birthday' to Lucas in Block E, 11 today. We also joined Jo Wickes on the balcony this morning for a kids workout.  G worked at his desk and WH was hardly to be seen as she taught students from her bedroom.

This is the view from the back door across to the Verve as I took out the rubbish.  It was a rainstorm at the time. It's pretty much the view from my bedroom window too. 

Tomorrow is another day but tonight I am switching off my phone when I go to bed.  The 3 a.m. messages, and news updates are seriously bad for me.  They can wait till morning.

Bonne chance everyone, wherever you are, however you are dealing with this and stay safe. We will get through it, but it may be a bumpy ride. 

7 days gone, 7 to go?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.