Capital adventures

By marchmont

Screen day

Or should that be scream day? Whatever, it was Board day. I did 5 hours, not quite non stop, on Teams chairing the College Board meeting. We had a review of our virtual meetings set up. It is hard. 20+ people with cameras and mics off and me juggling listening, reading the chat, watching for 'hands' that sometimes do go up, and sometimes don't go down, following the agenda, trying to 'sense' the 'room', oh and keeping in touch with my advisers, all simultaneously on a laptop, an iPad and a phone. No wonder by 5 my mouth had seized up and my concentration span was zilch. And so I rewarded myself inappropriately. The good news is the Principal is now looking into moving us to Zoom. My earlier stress was not finding the iPad charger. Luckily I won't need it now till May. And I've created a DIY standing desk. Amazing what a cardboard box can do. It feels v Blue Peterish.

Elsewhere, 2 deliveries today. First the gin for Thursday, now in the fridge, and second a heavy box in time for me to brave the cold wind later to deliver it for E's birthday.

Back home I watched last night's 'Unforgotten' but avoided the news. Apart from a mention at the start of the meeting, mainly to acknowledge that teaching was moved online over a year ago, I didn't mark the anniversary of the UK lockdown. It didn't feel right for me. My anniversary was last week and technically, due to the time shift, for me the announcement was at 3am on 24th. I fell asleep waiting for it. Monday 23rd was the day we opened 'Bedroom School'. I am fortunate, I don't know anyone who has been hospitalised or died of Covid-19 and I only know 2 people who have definitely had it, one in S. Yorkshire, last year, and one in Inverurie, 2 weeks ago, and both of them are ok. This time last year b in l had suspected Covid but there was no testing then so it could just have been a bad cold or similar. He certainly wasn't v ill. And we must remember that on 12 March 2020 UK stopped the requirement to self isolate for the majority of people coming into the country. And that's how it was when I arrived back a month later. Other countries shut or controlled their borders. Not only did we open ours we actively encouraged people to travel last summer. Candles won't change the fact that our Government, the PM, mishandled this from day 1 and that because of this thousands are dead. Reflection is only worthwhile if it leads to learning and change.

F2F - 3
Phone calls - 3
Virtual - 1 (or 4 depending how I count it)

Recovery day - 60

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.