Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Walking from home

I'm aiming at walking as near to home as possible for my daily exercise. It's a challenge, because the number of circular routes is quite limited. However, I worked out quite a good one for today.

I headed for Lincoln Hill and then Walwick Hall, where I picked up the Hadrian's Wall Trail. At this time of year, there would usually be a lot of walkers. I saw only two people on the trail (and two later on in the route). There is plenty of space to keep well apart.

From home to the trig  point near Limestone Corner is 3 miles. It is entirely uphill, although there are no steep parts. It had my circulation working and I needed to remove my fleece.  It was t shirt weather!

From Limestone Corner I walked on and turned north, just before the Roman fort at Brocolitia. It was easier walking from there on and the views over to the north were lovely. Chipchase Castle was in view for most of the walk.

I had been wondering whether I would see any coltsfoot this year. I usually see it earlier in March. There were lots of celandines and even an early buttercup and dandelion, but no coltsfoot. Then I saw one patch, see extra. I love the tiny, spiky petals.

I returned home via Sharpley and West Cocklaw.

My GPS said 9 miles. Arth and Aggie both complained, but not too much.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.