Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Wide Wednesday: Bridge

I hope I'm not too late for wide Wednesday.  The theme is road or bridge.  In this photo, I am actually standing on a bridge in my neighborhood.  The bridge is over an arroyo.

An arroyo (a-roy'-o), also called a wash, is a dry creek, stream bed or gulch that temporarily or seasonally fills and flows after sufficient rain. They can be naturally formed or constructed flood control channels.  This one is obviously constructed.

They are generally found in the southwest.  We don't have storm drains on the street so the neighborhood is filled with these washes so that the heavy monsoon rains will have a place to flow.  The heavy rains cause flash flooding which subsides once the water flows into them. In some areas, large washes have names.

It was a pretty nondescript day, as most of us continue to experience.  I did have to go out to have my hearing aids fixed.  I was the only one in the doctor's office and they had a very strict protocol before I could go in.  The aid broke while I was on vacation.  All fixed now and ready to go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.