Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Rainbows of hope

Well, did you go outside and cheer at 8pm last night?  A lot of people round here did - including K and me - and you could hear the ripple right along the street.  I understand the same thing will happen next Thursday too.  I hope NHS workers are aware and that it means something to them, poor things.

Also round here we have a lot of rainbows stuck to peoples' windows, around lamp posts, etc.  I think that's universal too, isn't it?  Rainbows of hope, and good for involving the kids.  I don't have one in my window, but instead I'm blipping a rainbow-coloured kite seen in the park this afternoon.  K, Hazel and I went for our exercise together and there was this dad and two smalls, about 4 and 6 I reckon.  Dad made me laugh because without going anywhere near them I realised he was doing just what my dad (and indeed many other dads) would do.  He got seriously into sorting out the kite as the kids larked about and wouldn't let them fly it until it was just so.  Even then they got a long explanation of (I think) how the aerodynamics worked, not much of which went in, I imagine!  Aren't dads just the best?

Apart from that I've gone on clearing out the geriatric shed, ready for demolition, but I'm finding it hard to know how to throw things out.  I have a bag full of poisons that I haven't used in the garden for years and they really will have to wait until the recycling centre is back open.  But what about all the other stuff?  The only thing I've solved is the large pile of chopped up branches too big to go in the recycling bag.  I'm taking them to the woods and chucking them in with all the other sticks.  Don't think anyone could accuse me of fly-tipping, do you?

Okay, that's me.  Enjoy yourselves - and stay well  xx

PS: details of the first WildflowerWeek challenge are on the challenges page.  It begins tomorrow and you have a week to get your entries in. The first week's tag is WFW20_01

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.