Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Take care in the children's playing field

Back at home just in time to catch the end of the snow. By tomorrow it will have been washed away.

Refreshed from a night in my own bed - what bliss! - I ventured out for a walk in the village and to visit friends. Passing the playing field I stopped to read and photograph the new notice. "Bit over the top", I thought.

The field has been gifted to the children of the village and cannot be built upon. Today there were a quite a few out enjoying the slope on their sledges. The aptly named and steeper "Toboggan Field" is about a mile away.

Returning 30 minutes later, I found the sledges abandoned and one girl crying noisily while her mother comforted her. She had broken her nose when she came off her sledge. Perhaps we do need that new sign after all.

PS For those of you who know that Bowlby was ill in my absence - the vet decided that her inability to pass urine was due to stress. On cue, she started to function normally again after I came home. Words fail me - but I have told her I will be going away again. Here she is prior to an earlier holiday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.