Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Gila Monster

Imagine opening your blinds and seeing this  Gila (hee'-la) monster  sitting on the wall in your backyard.  That's exactly what happened to me today.

It was thump-thump-thumping along.  It was amazing to see it get past obstacles along the way (my water dishes, neighbor's ceramic quail family).  For reference, each brick is 10 cm in width. I put a head shot as an extra so you could see his texture, claws and tongue better.

Spoke with a couple of long-distance friends today,  The first was one from college who told me not to laugh.  She told me it was snowing.  I laughed.  She lives in Minnesota. The other was Alma, whom some of you know.  I miss her and hope she starts blipping regularly again.  [SL#1]

I got a couple of nice surprises, too.  Retired Pastor friend dropped by with a DQ pineapple Blizzard and Neighbor from across the street brought me some potatoes and asked if I needed anything.  She came back later with a can of Sprite soda.  Such nice gestures. [SL#3]

I was up late binging on the old TV show, The West Wing. I hope it's not foolish to wish for a president as brilliant and empathetic as the fictional Jed Bartlet. I didn't even skip the soaring opening music and credits because it makes me think there are grander things possible in the world. [SL#5]

I came across this somewhere:

Quarantine Diary

Day 1:
I have stocked up on enough non-perishable food and supplies to last me months, maybe a year, so I can remain in isolation as long as it takes to see out this pandemic.

Day 1 + 15 minutes:
I am in the supermarket because I wanted a Twix.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.