Not Out Of The Woods Yet!

Today when I went over to my folks, for the first time I was intercepted by the police and asked why I was catching the train. I told them and they let me go on my way. 

I was brave today and took my camera with me so on the way to their house I took a detour down a public footpath into these woods. This is where my Dad said he once saw a "ghost" of a small man in a three cornered hat! Sounds like Napoleon!! My Dad's not given to fanciful flights of imagination though, and he said he wasn't frightened - more embarrassed, feeling like he'd seen something he shouldn't have. His dog, Ben didn't react at the time, but afterwards refused to walk past the place the man had appeared and needed to be carried. He  didn't tell anyone for years. Then one day another village resident mentioned to him that he'd also seen the strange little man. 

I didn't see anything unusual, and I thought the place had a very peaceful atmosphere - as do most established woodland areas!

My Dad had defrosted and cleaned out the small freezer, and had prepared an order for me to phone through to his regular butcher at Navenby for delivery - it will arrive tomorrow!

Once home I headed out again to the Post Office and to Boots to collect a prescription. They vet you at the door and only let three in at a time. It wasn't busy though, and neither was the post office. I had planned to go to the village one but it had a queue a mile long!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.