Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Earth Day, 50 years On

On April 22, 1970, I was 15 years old and a sophomore in high school. Even though it was 50 years ago, I remember that day as if it were yesterday.  EARTH DAY!  The students and faculty were abuzz and excited for weeks in advance. For the first time, I was allowed to wear jeans to school.  We could walk or ride a bike.  Every class was held outdoors.  It was a good thing the school grounds were huge.  We read poems about nature under trees, we cleaned up trash in the woods behind the school (a favorite place to hang out when skipping class). In total, 100 trees were planted on the school grounds.  I learned more about earth science that day than ever before.  In fact, there wasn't even an Earth Science course in the curriculum.  I hope that has changed.

It was our generation's awakening.

Congratulations, Earth, on making it this far.  Thank you for the life you sustain and the beauty with which we are blessed. May we be greater stewards of you each and every day.
 
A 50-year old memory and the world around me is today's silver lining.  It truly is a wonderful world.
I recommend watching the link in full screen mode.


Please join me this Sunday for the decade's first virtual blipmeet. Let's be in this together. See either the Challenge page, the Blipmeet page or Blipfoto on Facebook for details. Thanks to Bex for the FB post.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.