Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

House Sparrow

I don't think I've ever posted a photo of a house sparrow.  It's a very common bird, here and in many places in the world.  Interestingly, they were introduced to New York City from Eurasia in 1851.  It took a few years but they made it to Tucson in 1902.

Posting a day late again.  Didn't feel very motivated on a Tuesday, especially after my online therapy session.  After unloading about having difficulty sleeping and having nightmares, being stressed, anxious and increasingly more paranoid, I got this sage response: "I wish there was something I could tell you."  Hmm...therapy.

Since I'm writing this on Wednesday, the GV News published a letter to the editor I sent in a few days ago (not the epistle I wrote yesterday).  Here's part of it, as it references the demonstrations here and across the country to "re-open":

"I am a firm believer in the right to free speech and assembly.  But just as shouting "fire" in a crowded theatre, your right to exercise them ends when it endangers others.  

I fully understand the plight of small businesses.  My parents were restaurant owners for over 30 years and I can't imagine how bad things would have been for my family if this had happened during those years. In these uncertain times, this comes at a steep personal sacrifice for many. But here's the thing:  staying home right now is the patriotic thing to do.


I recently came upon my mother's books of  food ration stamps used during WWII.   Their sacrifices saved our country.  My immigrant great-grandparents and grandparents survived the Great Depression.  What they sacrificed, during those periods in our country's history were truly heroic.  Patriotic.  We have been asked to serve our country by staying home.  It has been about a month.  It amazes me that some people find that sacrifice too difficult.  As the history of our country demonstrates, pulling together for the common good and sacrificing what we can is the American way. The country will bounce back better and stronger for it. It is surely the patriotic thing to do."



Thinking of those who sacrificed so much more than we are being asked to do, and the stories about that time from my mother is my silver lining today.  Perspective is everything.

I'm Still Standing

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.