Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A longer walk

Despite the forecast, it was a lovely day. In fact it was perfect for walking. There was sunshine, but just enough bite in the light wind to stop me from becoming too hot.

I chose a longer route than recently. I have challenged myself to find interesting walks that avoid opening farm gates. I did well on this one, although a quiet road I chose had three gates on it. Hmm.

First I met two neighbours who chatting happily with the dog of one running excitedly between us all. They cheered me.

Then I heard my first cuckoo of the year. Bliss (funny old birds that they are).

I stopped for a quick drink on the seat outside St Mungo's Church in Simonburn. The hamlet looked lovely but was quiet apart from the birds, who were anything but!

I talked with a young woman who is isolating in a tiny cottage by the river. Her two year old dog is a golden retriever and German shepherd cross. It looks like a thinner retriever and was very friendly.

In the woods near to Nunwick Hall I was entranced by the wood anemones, the bank sides of primroses and the carpets of wild garlic. The garlic has yet to flower and I must go back there next week. I found the Holy Well in that wood, probably only the third time in 20 years!

The leaves in my blip were catching the sun. They look like an acer. Research at home suggests this might be a Japanese maple. What do you think?

I made corned beef hash and we watched Grayson Perry's Art Programme. 

No quizzes on Mondays at the moment.

Life in the Time of Covid 19
Regular readers know that I get obsessed with supermarket shopping. I've tried to have Mum registered as vulnerable with Waitrose, Sainsbury's and Iceland with no success. My shops have come from Tesco. Today I spoke to a delightful young man on the Tesco helpline and we are now registered with them, so can access more slots. Hooray.

I promise not to go on about food shopping anymore. (I won't have a word said against Tesco now!!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.