KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

A Peek into the Back Garden

Last March I dismantled the raised-bed vegetable garden in my back yard. It had become too much work, without optimal veggie growing conditions - ie, not enough direct sun until afternoon. I have a landscaper designer friend who came over to help me think through the laurel hedge which surrounds the backyard. No way were we going to pay to have a backhoe in to remove them so she suggested that I use it as a lovely, green backdrop to my new garden. The she stood in the garden beds and said "You need a small tree HERE, and HERE!" She was my inspiration! See the extra for what the partially dismantled garden looked like (sorry it's not quite the same viewpoint) (and you'll get a sense of the darned laurels).

Fortunately I had a number of trees, and shrubs that now make up the backbone of this new garden. Some were in pots and others in a "dwarf evergreen garden" that I had created, not realizing that "dwarf" in this case just means much smaller than the towering 60' species! They outgrew their little garden quickly, needless to say. They're now interspersed around the new garden, providing a lovely winter contrast. 

This is the first garden that I actually carefully planned out...oh, not on paper, that would be too organized for me. But I took pictures on my iPad and drew in where I wanted the larger plants to go. 

Every plant that I purchased was through research - ensuring that they would grow well in their new home. And there's a color scheme (bronze/orange and chartreuse)! For once I didn't just buy anything that appealed to me! So it's coming along nicely - I'll post another photo further into the season when things are blooming.

If you remember my potting shed picture here - that's just off to the left hand side. The short pathway to it is just beyond the big blue pot on the left.

It definitely provides me with solace during these odd times....as well as the source of many photos!  

Be well and be safe dear Blipmates! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.