Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Cuckoo pint

This name appeared first in Culpeper's 17th century Herbal, but you may know if by one of a number of different names. I found this specimen in a rather dark wood. The flower spathe always looks quite luminous, but it's tricky to photograph when you have Arth and Aggie who prevent me from kneeling down!

For various reasons I was late starting my walk. I intended to go early because the forecast was that it would be cloudy and cooler in the afternoon. It was 20 degrees as I climbed from Wall Village up the hill to Fallowfield and my legs felt like lead!

I made it to the top and then walked over the fields to Codlaw Dene. The woods were very quiet. I joined Hadrian's Wall Trail for the return downhill route to Wall. 

There has been sad news today. Ann, a walking and U3A friend, died in the hospice. She was sleeping and peaceful which is a consolation. She was a very positive person who was always encouraging and who made the most of life.

Life in the time of Covid 19
How on earth could the stores of supplies of equipment for a pandemic be allowed to go out of date? Channel Four news had a lot of shocking information about this tonight.

As for the glove counting, in fairness I think that boxes of individual gloves are counted as singles not pairs. It's the surgical type who are packed in pairs. It's a trivial argument when you see it in context of the bigger scandal.

While I was out, Mum misdialed a phone number and found herself talking to a man in Blackhall. When they had established the error, he suggested that they had a chat, which they did. It was a happy conversation and a new friendship. He phoned later to make sure I was back and she was not alone.

Thank you to Kevin the retired firefighter for your kindness today.

The evening was the best of the weather, with gorgeous light and a freshness in the air, when neighbours were outside and clapping for our front line workers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.