Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Korean Fir

This specimen of Abies Koreana grows in our garden. I have blipped it before because I love it. Today I noticed that the young cones looked very smart. When they are older they go dark purple and are equally beautiful. You can see how actively the leaves are growing too.

Today has been a day to b-r-e-a-t-h-e!

The festival ended yesterday. There is a lot to do afterwards, but nothing is urgent. I nearly left the festival 'phone at home, thinking no one would want me. In Aldi it rang out loudly and it was a reporter from the local paper who wanted to interview me there and then. I found a quiet corner and went ahead.

I was at the Queens Hall Arts Centre early because priority booking for the Corbridge Chamber Music concert began today. I thought there would be a queue, but there was only me! It proved to be a good move because other people were phoning and the box office gives priority to the person in front of them. I have a festival pass. Sadly Mum is not feeling well enough to go this year.

I changed goods in EWM, posted a parcel in the Post Office, saw and was tempted by new wine glasses in Beales Sale, shopped in Boots, and the Coop and Aldi and Tesco before having lunch in the Garden Coffee House.

Then it was the lunchtime showing of Red Joan with Judy Dench and Sophie Cookson. I was intrigued by this tale of sending secrets to the Russians. Joan explained that she thought the information about splitting the atom should be shared so that no one had the upper hand. She wanted to prevent another Hiroshima. It was a compelling argument.

Brian and Jean came this afternoon so we had a good chat.

I finally managed to get John Lewis to unblock my new Mastercard. What a kerfuffle it has been. 

Now to brace ourselves for the work on the kitchen which starts tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.