Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Back to normality?

I lay in bed this morning and listened with incredulity to the Hartlepool election result. The voters like Boris. Many voted for Brexit and they want someone in government to remember they exist. It was a no brainer I guess.

Better news came later in the day, when the Green Party candidate was elected to serve us on the County Council. He fought an excellent campaign and convinced many Tory voters to switch.

Both Margret (next door) and Margaret ( over the road) put up posters only to have them torn down. My poster was behind glass, so I guess I have to be glad that no one threw anything at my window. This is quiet, law abiding Humshaugh remember!

Today I walked with Ann, Alistair, Brian and Jean. We did a 7.5 mile walk from Allendale, up into the fields and through woods. The weather was mixed in the morning. When it started to hail in the afternoon, we thought it would be short lived. The rain then set in and we were well soaked.

The waitress at the pub offered to take clothes in to dry out, but we just sat and let the sun do its job. Walks always end at a pub, so this felt like a return to normality. I wonder what Alistair was explaining to the rest??!

Back home to see Margaret (across the road) who was in to see Mum. Her husband, Brian, had a partial thyroidectomy today. He phoned while she was with us and sounded on good form, if a little drowsy. Good news.

Julie and I saw each other on Facetime tonight. She has a lovely new wig and I tempted to buy an auburn one.........

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.