Bald Eagle: The Greening of the Pennsylvania Hills

The autumn color show is something amazing to see in my home state, but there is another lovely tree foliage show that we don't talk about as much: the spring greening of the Pennsylvania hills.

My husband and I took the new car up to Bald Eagle State Park for the afternoon. We wanted to go to the old boat launch area, but the gates are still closed to that part of the park.

So we left the car in the parking lot by the swimming area and walked around. This is a photo of the trees on the hill on the opposite side of the lake. You can see a variety of shades of green, as well as yellow and orange mixed in. (And in some parts of the park, there is the pink of redbuds too.)

Here's a soundtrack for the greening of the hills in springtime: Johnny Cash, with Forty Shades of Green. I'm also including his daughter Rosanne's cover of her dad's song.

P.S. It was Mother's Day in the U.S., but with the coronavirus quarantine, my husband and I did not think it was safe for us to visit my parents yet. Let me be clear on this: It's not US we're worried about. We're afraid of unwittingly taking some deadly germ that will harm them, and they are so precious to me. So I am sorry, Mom (and Dad, too); I love you and I miss you - and we spoke on the phone on this day, and exchanged our words of love - but I won't see you again until we feel it's safe to do so. So here's a bittersweet Happy Mother's Day wish to my own beloved mom, and to all the moms who did not get to see some of those they loved for these or other reasons on this special day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.