Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Down by the riverside

I went for quite a short walk today. Mum had a much better night but was still experiencing a lot of pain in her neck. Thank you all for your concern and good wishes.

I chose to go to the wood near Barrasford. I now know, from a friend who grew up in the village, that the wood is locally known as Paradise. 

I was on the search for wildflowers as usual. I found the ordinary water avens and then the hybrid between water and wood avens. It was much later in the walk when I found the wood avens. All now documented.

This view of the river was early in my walk. I used my smartphone with the Spectre app. It allows you to blur moving objects. My ideal composition was this one but from lower down with a group of marsh marigolds in the foreground. It was much too windy for this to be possible.

Back at home and we watched the second episode of the A word (series 3). I made a vegetarian casserole with butterbean, tomatoes, onions, red and yellow peppers, apple and a touch of curry powder. It was delicious.

Life in the time of Covid 19
Liz phoned to say she was in Hexham and would I like ham from the butcher's? Margaret (next door) brought me some from Wark butcher's yesterday. It was delicious and was eaten up quickly. It was good to see Liz when she came. She and Nick have been very busy doing shopping for the village shop and for people who are shielding at home.

I skipped the news briefing again today. I had been very cross when I heard Matt Hancock go on and on about how Care Homes have been prioritised from the beginning of the outbreak. Just tell the truth. It would be better.

In my opinion it is impossible to make a relaxation of the lockdown risk free. It stands to reason that it will not be. The government does not want to say this, but it needs to.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.