Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Horse chestnut

Between us, Mum and I managed to be up and ready early so that I could go out early to walk. I wanted to do most of my walk before it was too hot. 

I took the car up the road to a convenient parking place about 2 miles from Chipchase Castle. I walked along by the river to the castle and then looped back on the path towards  Gunnerton. It's not a long walk but there was a lot to be interested in.

The riverside is owned by the Chipchase estate and is riddled with Private signs. Many are on the benches that are designated for fishermen. A lot of work has been done to spruce up the area. A tarmac road has been laid beside the old mill. I think they are expecting lots of wealthy fishermen to come soon.

The wildflowers continue to delight with bird's foot trefoil and black meddick making an appearance, along with common vetch. I was thrilled to see these beautiful flowers on a horse chestnut tree. (The tree I have been following and photographing appears to have had a problem with the flowers and there are none to see.) I nearly put up a close up image of one flower and asked you to guess what it was, but I loved this one with the leaves and the shadows below.

This afternoon, I watched a replay of Elif Shafak and Philippe Sands in conversation at the Hay Festival. It was about ways to tell the truth in authoritarian regimes and the roles of journalists and novelists. I was spellbound, but have to confess that I had a little nap afterwards. 

Dick is here doing the garden. Angus is such an intelligent dog (black lab). He saw me through the conservatory and fully understood my signalling that I would meet him at the front door with treats! I threw a ball for him. It went into the herbaceous border. He emerged triumphant with ball and a mouthfull of leaves.

He disappeared. He had gone to where there is a water trough, washed the ball. When he returned he spent time rolling over and over on the ball to dry it. How bright is that?!

I'm going to watch Joe Cornish talking about landscape photography on the Light and Land Facebook page shortly.

It's getting busy in lockdown!

I'm not sure I want to comment on the mess the government is in over the Dominic Cummings' debacle. Who will believe the story about testing his eyesight? Really Dominic??

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.