Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Goatstones Farm

First of all, thank you to everyone who enquired about Daisy. She seems to have recovered without a visit to the vet. After 2 days she started to eat and drink again, just like that!

Today has been a day when a few things have been a bit odd:

Mum started the day with an upset tummy, so I ate her prunes!

I was up early to prepare an audio visual presentation for a trial run at 0900.

Pictures to exe decided that an upgrade was necessary. My old version kept having error messages.

At 0845 I sat down to be sure I was ready to connect in good time. The laptop decided it needed to do updates for Windows. Arghh. The time ticked by. 

I grabbed another laptop and it went on a go slow and would not connect.

Just before 0900 I was trying to connect with my ipad, to explain my lateness, although I needed to use the laptop for the presentation. C and L at the other end were having problems and we could not connect.

By 0910 we were just about up and running. After a few glitches it all worked. 

Mum seemed OK by lunchtime, so I went for my walk. I drove the short distance to the Stonehaugh road and started my walk towards Goatstones Farm, pictured.

There is a beautiful herd of cattle on the farm, with bull, cows and calves who decided to be  on the my path. There was no easy way to get around them, so I gently eased my way past. The bull, of course, was not bothered, but one cow was looking daggers at me. All was well.

I have not been on to the fell top here for a long time. The route included a lot of ups and downs. By the end I felt as though I had walked 7 miles and it was only 5.

I had a 360 degree view on top and enjoyed the company of skylarks and lapwings. There is a freedom when you can see for such a long way.

In my image you can see the farm with the shelterbelt of trees. To the right are the Ravensheugh Crags. I must walk there soon. There is a wonderful view north from them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.